Every year, the Sam Houston Area Council selects one honoree for whom that Eagle Scout class is named. This individual is recognized as namesake and mentor to the whole class at the annual New Eagle Scout Reception.
2018 Nelson R. Block
2017 John B. Walker
2016 Bob J. Tillerson
2015 H. Palmer Melton
2014 Stan C. Stanley
2013 Harold S. Hook
2012 C. Travis Traylor, Jr.
2011 Rev. William A. Lawson
2010 Marvin E. Keil
2009 Orville D. Gaither, Sr.
2008 Edward D. Vickery
2007 Harry E. Bovay, Jr.
2006 Lawrence W. Kellner
2005 J. Downey Bridgwater
2004 George M. Fleming
2003 A. T. "Gus" Blackshear
2002 Gasper Mir, III
2001 David L. Garrison, Jr.
2000 Nelson R. Block
1999 Judge David Hittner
1998 Howard T. Tellepsen, Jr.